The Honeymoon Special

We arrived on the runway in a disheveled state, running like crazy. As we hopped on aboard, and finally took a breath, I poked Tom with my elbow, and said, “Smile, we’re on our honeymoon.”

“Smile?” Tom sounded exasperated, “We almost missed the flight because of your packing. And now, we’re about to fly…on this ….thing! ”

I said lovingly, “I know my brush with death nearly broke you, but there’s nothing to worry, sweetheart. Or five-star deluxe resort is waiting for us, and we’ll reach there within no time.”

And as I finished speaking, we took off.

“See,” I said after five minutes, when we were cruising through the clouds, “Absolutely nothing to worry about.”

In hindsight, I shouldn’t really have said that, for suddenly, we were plummeting at super speed towards the ground.

Tom and I held each other tight, as I shouted, “What happened?”

“Nothing to worry ma’am,” pat came the reply from the front, “Just saw a worm on the ground that I’ve been wanting to try for a long time.”

Tom stared at me angrily, and cried out, “We’ll walk back if we have to, but I’m not getting on to this crow again, Thumbelina!”

Photo courtesy of DB McNicol via Pixabay

*********************************************************************************

200 words.

Written in response to the Sunday Photo Fiction prompt.

Tom Thumb and Thumbelina first made an appearance as a couple here: https://jagahdilmein.wordpress.com/2018/02/22/two-become-one/

 

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Fairy Tales, Fan Fiction, fantasy, Flash Fiction, Humour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Honeymoon Special

  1. DB McNicol says:

    That was fantastic and so unexpected!! Well done….

  2. Haha. A fresh take on the prompt. Loved it!

  3. Hira says:

    Loved this and the other recent ones 🙂 All these have un-usual twist in the end which surprised me in each one. What a fun and charming way to tell stories.

Leave a comment