Two Become One

Before I start today’s story, just wanted to share that a story of mine has been published in The Cabinet of Heed, an online literary journal. Much excited, for this is my first published work ever (if I discount school/college magazines and suchlike). Here’s a link to the story: https://cabinetofheed.wordpress.com/2018/02/13/kidnapped-anurag-bakhshi/

And now, it’s time for Rochelle’s challenge.

I have finally found the girl of my dreams, a perfect match for me in every way.

My happiness knew no bounds the day she finally said YES with her sweet little lips. I am on my way to her home now, for today is the day when we finally become one, joined together forever.

But wait, what is that goat doing at my sweetheart’s home?

STOP, IN THE NAME OF MY FATHER, THE KING! That flower is not for eating you idiot…No…No…NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO….

I am going to miss you so much my love, my darling Thumbelina.

*************************************************************************************

99 words.

Written as a part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The objective is to write a story of 100 words or less based on the photo prompt given above. This week’s photograph has been contributed by Marie Gail Stratford. To read the other stories based on this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

 

 

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Fairy Tales, fantasy, Flash Fiction, Humour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Two Become One

  1. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Congratulations on getting published! I hope you did something to celebrate.

  2. Excellent! Tragic – but funny, too.

  3. Just been over and read your story. Really liked it, and the tiniest of nods to Kafka, maybe?

  4. Moon says:

    Great story, Anurag.
    Congratulations on getting published. Read your wonderful story. So very imaginative and loved the great surprise ending.

  5. neilmacdon says:

    Congratulations on the publication. First publication is a watershed moment, isn’t it?

  6. Iain Kelly says:

    Argh! What a disaster! Congratulations on your published story.

  7. Natasha says:

    Omg!!! Who would have seen that coming Anurag. Ha ha!
    Congratulations for a brand new feather to your hat!

  8. yarnspinnerr says:

    Congratulations – it is such an unique feeling. Loved your delightfully different take.

  9. Dale says:

    First of all, loved your story! Congrats on publication.
    As for this one… uh oh…

  10. Congratulations on being published. It’s both funny and sad. At least Gregor Samsa was never in love with his dung beetle.

  11. Dear Varad,

    Such a sad twist to an old favorite of mine. Love it. And congratulations on your publication. 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  12. pennygadd51 says:

    A new twist on fairy tales. What a shame for Tom Thumb to lose his beloved Thumbelina to a goat.
    Congratulations on getting published!

  13. Alice Audrey says:

    Poor Thumbelina! Better to have remained unplucked.

  14. Congratulations on getting published! My first publication was in the Cabinet of Heed too! Issue 2. Great story, poor Thumbelina!

  15. plaridel says:

    all thumbs up for this story. well done as always. congrats on being published. you’re on your way. 🙂

  16. granonine says:

    AAAggggh!! Poor Thumbelina!

    Congrats on your first-ever published work 🙂

  17. joem18b says:

    Congratulations on your published story.

    I have a goat and it will eat anything.

  18. Dahlia says:

    Thumbelina became one with someone else! 😀 Nice take Anurag and congratulations and best wishes for more publications.

  19. A goat… who would have believed that would be an adversary for a love tale…

  20. Laurie Bell says:

    Oh no! Clever story. I enjoyed this

  21. Pingback: The Honeymoon Special | jagahdilmein

  22. Invictus says:

    I am so happy that your story got published Anurag. I loved the story. You are quite the master of twists man! Kahan I thought baccha hain and kahan cockroach nikla. Dhat teri ki!!! I am particularly happy because a lucid and entertaining story like yours got published. I am sick of trying to decipher some of the literary, pretentious crap that some of these magazines publish (There are gems also if you get past the nonsense AND are still awake!). They are only for MFA graduates’ consumption 😛 I mean I don’t want badly written genre fiction but I also want believable literary fiction. There has to be a middle road, a combination of the good elements of both. And a lot of Indian writers trying to fit in do so by showcasing India in a poor light (widows getting prostituted, child marriage, or worse, writing about dosa and filter kaapi and using terms like ammamma, achaccha, kocchumon…eye roll! I am going to do so soon just to find out how it feels ;).

    End-of-rant!
    Have a great day 🙂

Leave a comment