In a Jam

As I opened the refrigerator door, my wife’s words of warning reverberated in my ears, “No more sweets, or you’ll be in a right royal jam!”

But her words soon faded away, and all I could see was a treasure trove of cakes, pastries, muffins…and standing tall amidst them, a bottle of fresh home-made rhubarb jam.

I took out the bottle, gazing at it lovingly, when suddenly, the lights came on, and a voice, possibly belonging to the owner of the house, spoke sharply, “Gotcha! Robert, keep the gun trained on this thief while I call the police.”

**************************************************************************************

Written in response to the Carrot Ranch flash fiction prompt, Sweet Jam.

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Humour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In a Jam

  1. Jules says:

    Another fun twits… too much of a sweet tooth!

    I know there are more rules with haiku than I follow… Just enjoy what you like to write πŸ™‚

  2. Norah says:

    Very good – that is a jam. Comes from having too sweet a tooth. πŸ™‚

  3. Aw, poor guy just needed a sweet fix.

  4. Charli Mills says:

    “…perhaps the owner of the house…” Ha! I like how you slipped that in and realize that the character is not raiding his own refrigerator.

  5. Pingback: A Sweet Jam « Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Leave a comment