The Hold-Up

Photo prompt courtesy Dale Rogerson

The early-morning tranquility of the café was shattered by the entry of a wild-haired, red-eyed woman, who rushed to the counter, and shouted hysterically, “Give me everything you’ve got!”

The shivering man behind the counter immediately opened his till, and held out a thin wad of notes.

“What’s this?” she screamed.

The man mumbled, “This is all I have.”

The woman, let’s call her Dale for convenience’s sake, shook her head in exasperation, and said patiently, “I just need all the coffee you’ve got. I’ve spent the entire night thinking of a story on Rochelle’s prompt, but still got nothing!”

***********************************************************************************

100 words.

Written as a part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE).

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Humour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to The Hold-Up

  1. draliman says:

    Just a name, picked at random… 🙂 Sometimes coffee is more important than money.

  2. neilmacdon says:

    Cute twist, Anurag

  3. Absolutely brilliant Anurag! The coffee clearly had the desired effect!

  4. Dear Anurag,

    I nearly snorted my own coffee at the ending. LOL…hilariously clever! Thank you for brightening my morning. 😀

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. Haha 😂 😂 😂. That was a good one. And there I was, thinking it was a heist.

  6. Iain Kelly says:

    Ha, good to know we are not alone in wondering what the prompt will throw our way each week! 🙂

  7. Dale says:

    Ha ha ha! Just for convenience sake, eh?
    Desperate times call for desperate measures.

  8. bearmkwa says:

    Me, too. It was just one of those weeks, hereabouts.

  9. gahlearner says:

    LOL, that was hilarious. Poor Dale, give her the coffee already. 😀

  10. 4963andypop says:

    Very funny. Nice misdirection.

  11. Jade M. Wong says:

    LOL okay that end threw me for a twist and made me laugh.

  12. lol Well done! I appreciated the laugh.

  13. michael1148humphris says:

    Glad that I did not have a cup of coffee in my hand…:)

  14. plaridel says:

    well, that’s a twist i really like. well done. 🙂

  15. granonine says:

    Hilarious! Who needs money when you can get coffee?

  16. msjadeli says:

    Your story had me chuckling as I’m sipping my own coffee!

  17. Abhijit Ray says:

    You are asking for trouble. A sleepy Dale is less dangerous than a Dale who is awake.

  18. Ah, ha, ha. That’s one of the few advantages of growing old. There’s a lot of material for my stories. Good one, Abhijit. Great dialog. 😀 — Suzanne

  19. Sorry, Anurag. That’s one of the disadvantages of growing old. I get names mixed up. 😦 — Suzanne

  20. Coffee is a life saver… love the convenient name … just any name 🙂

Leave a comment