A Giant Step for Mankind

 

Photo prompt courtesy Sue Vincent

It was the 12th day of our journey, and I was exhausted, drained of all the enthusiasm and excitement that I had started off with. I just wanted to reach our destination and get it all over with.

Next to me, Sophie was still chattering away to glory, immune to the vicissitudes of the arduous journey. Youth is like a superpower, I guess, though I didn’t remember being this full of beans when I was her age. To be fair, there’s little I remember from that far back.

My joints were stiff now, and each part of my body ached with the slightest movement. Plus were not really making good time, what with being able to travel only at night so that nobody could see us. And I was still doing it, all because of one little girl.

Sophie.

I looked at her again, my heart filling with warmth. She was helping me realize my life-long dream.

“BFG,” she’d said, “let us go to the Buckingham Palace and meet the Queen. She’ll help us get rid of the evil giants.”

I thought about it for three days and three nights, and then, on the fourth day, I told her that I was on.

And so, here we were, on our way to see the Queen.

Sophie was confident that she would be able to get us both inside the Palace despite the heavy security.

And once inside, it would be child’s play for me to gobble up the Queen, and become the new King of the British Empire.

Till then, even though it killed me, I would need to continue with that silly garbled-up English while talking to Sophie. Couldn’t have her suspecting our intentions, could we?

**********************************************************************************

Written in response to theย #writephoto Prompt โ€“ Journey at Sue Vincentโ€™s Daily Echo.

 

 

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Children, Fan Fiction, fantasy, Flash Fiction, Humour, literary fiction, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Giant Step for Mankind

  1. Iain Kelly says:

    Not so friendly after all it seems!

  2. Ohh wow! Nice twist ๐Ÿ‘Œ

  3. Sue Vincent says:

    Oh dear…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Pingback: A Giant Step for Mankind ~ Anurag Bakhshi #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

  5. Pingback: Photo prompt round-up: Journey #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Leave a comment