A Giant Awakens

Photo prompt courtesy Sue Vincent

I woke up to find that I had gone blind….or maybe it was just the world that had turned dark. I frankly couldn’t say which would terrify me more.

I had been the last of the Rock Giants, humans pissed on the spot if they even got a glimpse of me, lowly animals, the so-called predators, offered themselves as sacrifice to save their families. Those were the days….

But alas! Ever since that blasted Merlin placed that irrevocable curse upon me, I’d gone into a deep sleep…till the time I was not asleep any more.

Maybe the humans had blinded me when I fell unconscious. I let out a loud roar of frustration, and the earth shook.

The earth….

Ah, so the vile treacherous humans had buried me inside the earth. But what was buried once, could be excavated as well.

A new hope filled every pore of my being. I tried to get up, but the earth was too densely packed around me. A rock giant, imprisoned by sand and stones. I would have cried if I could.

Days passed, or maybe months. I just lay still in my grave, feeding myself little by little on sand, building my strength, readying myself for my escape. Till one day, I finally decided to put my escape plan in motion.

During my long period of hibernation, I’d realized that trying to get out all at once was futile. I had to focus all my efforts on a narrow point.

I wiggled my index finger a little, and felt the earth around it move a little. I knew then that I was on the right track.

With renewed intensity, I started pecking at the earth upwards, like a woodpecker, pecking away nonstop at the earth above me with the tip of my finger. For seven nights and seven days, I kept on digging upwards, till finally, with one last push, my finger broke through the final layer of the ground.

It would now take energy from the heat of the sun, and feed it to the rest of my body. Within days, I would be good as new, and then, that Merlin and the rest of the human race would face my wrath.

I could already feel the heat of the sun warming my finger.

Aaaah…that felt really good. I didn’t expect the warmth to spread that quickly, though.

Wait….it’s not warm anymore….it’s hot…..what is happening…..AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!

120 meters above the ground, Jake and Stuart added some more sticks to their campfire. “I don’t know what this thing that came out in the middle of our fire is,” said Jake, chomping away to glory, “but it’s finger-lickin’ good!”

*************************************************************************************Written in response to the #writephoto Prompt – Timeless at Sue Vincent’s Daily Echo.

 

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in fantasy, Flash Fiction, Humour, Thriller, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Giant Awakens

  1. Sonal P Deo says:

    Hahaha…good one 😀

  2. Sue Vincent says:

    Oh dear… poor giant 😉

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    Is this the Colonel’s secret recipe?! 🙂

  4. Pingback: A Giant Awakens ~ Anurag Bakhshi #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

  5. And he thought he would get out. Nice twist at the end.

  6. daisybala says:

    Nicely written 👍

  7. Violet Lentz says:

    AGH!!! Oh No!! this was a twist to beat all!

  8. Pingback: Photo prompt round-up: Timeless #writephoto | Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Leave a comment