Betrayal

I got out of my business partner Harry’s home, and started walking jauntily towards my car. Our long-running dispute about embezzlement from the company was finally over, and I couldn’t be happier.

But suddenly, everything became hazy, and I stumbled and fell.

nyc-jill-wisoff

Photo Prompt © Jill Wisoff

And then it hit me.

Poison in the wine….Harry….betrayal….

I somehow dialed 9-1-1 with my fumbling fingers. They’d be here soon, and I would be safe.

I knew I should not have had that wine, even though it was just a sip, but how else could I have convinced Harry that it was not poisoned!

*************************************************************************************

98 words.

Written as a part of the Friday Fictioneers challenge, hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields (more details HERE). The objective is to write a short story in 100 words or less, based on the weekly photo prompt. To read many more wonderful, quirky, and fun stories inspired by this week’s prompt, visit HERE.

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Thriller, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Betrayal

  1. neilmacdon says:

    I’m not at all convinced they’ll be safe. Nice one

  2. That didn’t go quite to plan! Excellent.

  3. shivamt25 says:

    Nicely done! 😃

  4. Iain Kelly says:

    Perhaps they both got entirely what they deserved!

  5. draliman says:

    Somebody forgot to take the antidote along with him… 🙂

  6. Dear Anurag,

    That plan certainly backfired, didn’t it? Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. pennygadd51 says:

    That’s a fun story, and I like the turnaround at the end. I also like the way you’ve brought the graininess of the photoprompt into your story with ‘everything became hazy’. Nice work!

  8. Oh dear – the biter bit. Maybe he deserved it? Nice take on the photo prompt.

    Susan A Eames at
    Travel, Fiction and Photos

  9. Dale says:

    Well done, Anurag. I, too, liked the “hazy” part…

  10. Russell says:

    The best laid plans… How’s that go again?
    Nice one!

  11. The embezzler imbibed. Apparently, you can’t trust anyone–especially your business partner. 🙂

  12. granonine says:

    Huh. Neither one is a good guy, I’m thinking. One bad player outsmarting another. Great story.

  13. gahlearner says:

    He’s a sneaky one. Great plan, but also very risky. What if Harry calls the ambulance just as quickly and survives?

  14. LucciaGray says:

    Ha! Chilling twist at the end.

  15. lisarey1990 says:

    Great twist at the end.

  16. jillyfunnell says:

    So maybe Harry guzzled his glassful down in one go and is beyond calling 911. Very dangerous games, these people are playing. I wonder if your protagonist is right about the temporary effect of his mere sip?

  17. Seems he calculated it well and will survive the poisoning, while Harry will not. Sneaky.

  18. Lynn Love says:

    Haha! That ending was marvellous. Very well done

  19. In the end that’s the only choice… I would have used a poison with a good antidote handy.

  20. Sarah Ann says:

    A lovely twist there. I hope he didn’t have more wine that was healthy.

Leave a comment