The Makeover

Photo from Morguefile

My face lit up with pride as I watched Anne write.

When I’d found her running cheap scams on Pub Street, she couldn’t even spell her name, let alone being able to write it. But I’d seen something in her…a hunger – to succeed, to leave this state of destitution behind, to live life on her own terms.

Convincing her to allow me to change her life was the easier part. But grooming her, teaching her how to stand, sit, talk, even eat and drink, took a lot out of both of us.

I would be lying if I told you that I didn’t contemplate leaving this crazy project of mine unfinished numerous times, but one look at her face, and I doubled down to trying even harder than before.

For it was her face that had worked its magic upon me, right from that night on the street when I first saw her.

The face that would make all this blood and sweat worth it in the end.

The face that was an exact replica of the missing heiress of a multi-billion dollar empire, a spitting image of the girl buried in an unmarked grave in my backyard.

*************************************************************************************

199 words.

Written as a part of Sunday Photo Fiction – Aug 11 2019.

 

 

 

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Humour, Thriller, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Makeover

  1. DB McNicol says:

    Oh snap! Great ending!!!!

  2. Invictus says:

    What stories you spin out of an innocuous pic Anurag :):) What worked for me is the unsaid – that he is going to make her impersonate the heiress? Also, the twist from “smitten” to “not really”.

  3. A dark tale…………

  4. Jules says:

    I was going to say it reminded me of the play ‘My Fair Lady’ or even ‘The Taming of the Shrew’… but the twisty end… Boom! 🙂

  5. Ohh my God! I did not see that coming. Nice twist!

Leave a comment