Homecoming!

I’d returned home after a long time, but I knew in my heart that I would find her in the grove, picking up those lovely oranges.

And I was right.

There she stood, head wrapped in her red scarf. My heart leaped up, and I started grinning like an ass.

I moved closer, wanting to surprise her.

SQUELCH!

Startled, she turned around! A horrified look came on her face, and as she threw an orange violently at me, she exclaimed, “YOU! I thought I’d driven you away permanently. Grandma was right, you donkeys don’t have much brains, do you?”

******************************************************************************************

99 words.

Written in response to Charli Mills’  Carrot Ranch 99-word Fiction prompt.

About anuragbakhshi

At the age of 40, I decided to exit the corporate world, and enter the world of stories as a full-time writer. Wish me luck!
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction, Humour, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homecoming!

  1. Charli Mills says:

    Ha, ha! A happy, hopeful donkey!

  2. Pingback: Seeking Trees « Carrot Ranch Literary Community

Leave a comment